F1 in Schools Irish Champions!

Congratulations to our Transition Year students who have captured the national F1 in Schools title!

Remember, DGS had two teams who made it to the regional finals in March. At that event, Team Evolution (Conor Williams, Jonathan Coyle, Kaleb Honer, Keith Mc Connon, Thomas Campbell, Ultan Murphy) came away with the award for the fastest car in Leinster. However Team Govannon Racing (Michael O’Neill, Niall Carroll, Conor Clarke, Steven Butterly, Jack Farrell and Robbie Rowntree) also picked up an award for the best use of ICT and CAD.

And then on to the Irish national finals in April. There is no doubt that the presence in the school of two motivated and hard-working teams helped to raise the performance of everyone involved.  And so it proved on the day.  While Team Evolution obtained a hard-won ranking of third place in the country, it was Team Govannon who went one better than last year’s DGS entrants and emerged as the best Formula 1 Team in Ireland!

This is a wonderful achievement. The exceptional performance of both DGS teams is the culmination of a lot of hard work invested over a number of previous years. Undoubtedly the experience of Team Valhalla, last year’s runners-up, helped this year’s students to achieve at the highest level.  Well done to all concerned, particularly teacher Mr Scott Nowell  (with the significant support this year of Mr Paul Murphy) who has worked hard to ensure our students rise to the top each year.  Many thanks also to all those who have provided so much support and sponsorship for our students each year. 

Team Govannon’s website may be viewed here: http://f1govannonracing.com/ 
Team Evolution’s website is here: http://f1evolutionracing.com/


Share This Article